PDA

View Full Version : Biblical defense for NOT spanking?

mommy2aprincess
03-29-2007, 01:53 PM
I have been fortunate enough to meet a couple who surprisingly shares many of the same views that i do on parenting (breastfeeding, cosleeping, holistic health, babywearing, etc.). It has been so wonderful talking and learning from them. They are strong Christians and incredibly knowledgeable..have done a lot of reading and research to get to where they are now. I just found out last night that they are strict enforcers of using "the rod." They have a ton of biblical support to back themselves up and I didn't really have much of a response. Anyone have any books/articles/personal opinions that really address the issue of spanking from a biblical perspective? Not just so that I can defend my viewpoint, but so taht I can decide what I believe is the best thing. My daughter is only 2 so I am just beginning down the road of discipline. I would like to get a solid foundation of what I believe and WHY so that I can start implementing the basics and be more prepared when I really start needing to use discipline with her.

I greatly appreciate it. I have been gone from this site for a while due to family health problems and it was sooo refreshing to get back on here today! :)

thanks again! :)

Can Dance
03-29-2007, 01:57 PM
how about... do unto others as you would have them do unto you?
or.... to the least of these you do to me.
or.........we don't hit, hitting hurts.

again, pretty basic. I feel pretty sorry for them that they feel its biblically necessary to hit their child. Jesus took our punishment for us and that leaves us with discipline: learning the appropriate behaviour. seems like a no brainer to me.

but then again, I also have a moral convinction that violence is never acceptable, especially with a bigger person hitting a smaller one.

mommy2aprincess
03-29-2007, 02:12 PM