PDA

View Full Version : $crapbooking: are you $ERIOU$ about thi$???

GodChick
07-18-2006, 02:42 PM
WOW!!!! I've never done scapbooking before, but thought I might like it . . .I'm not into having a whole lot of really artsy, gaudy stuff on every page, because i think that detracts from the photos. . . but i wanted a pretty alternative to just slapping photos in an album. So I go into a scapbooking store. :jawdrop :eek :jawdrop :eek :jawdrop there was

paper for $2-5 a piece.
albums to put your stuff in for $35 on up.
stickers and stuff to stick on your pages for $2-5 a sheet.

soooooooo . . . I'm looking around and I add it up:

the cheapest album in the store (10 pages): $35
20 sheets of the cheepest paper to go into the 10 pages, front and back: 20 @ $2: $40

okay, so far I haven't done anything decorative yet, and haven't included the cost of the actual photos and already we're at $75 for a ten-page scapbook with nothing in it yet but paper. :jawdrop

i tried to take my two young kids in there, but after seeung the signs saying any paper you tear or wrinkle you have to pay for, and seeing paper everywhere, i fled the store before my kids had the opportunity to tear up $50 worth of paper!! :phew

does scrapbooking really cost that much??? maybe i just want a prettier photo album, rather than a scrapbook! :giggle

hey mommy
07-18-2006, 02:46 PM
I've never seen paper that much. Yes, it ccan be expensive, but the pages don't have to have a lot of gawdy stuff on them. Just a few simple pages w/some simple stickers or something and some journeling(writing) about the picture is fine. I'll try to take some pics of mine today and post them for you to see. Mine are all pretty simple..

Mother of Sons
07-18-2006, 02:48 PM