PDA

View Full Version : Calling all knitters, need help!

Lavender Lily
05-09-2006, 01:03 PM
I'm working on a blanket for my little one who is coming in Sept.
Its a block quit pattern I designed, stockinette and garder stitch blocks. I was thinking about embroidering daisies on the stockinette blocks. Is it possible? or should I just buy the iron-ons? I've never done embroidery before.

cklewis
05-09-2006, 01:10 PM
oooo--that sounds pretty!! i would embroider!!! have you ever heard of duplicate stitch?

http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&rls=GGLG,GGLG:2005-23,GGLG:en&q=duplicate+stitch

c

Lavender Lily
05-09-2006, 01:49 PM
Thank you! That sounds neat. Since I've never done that before. I don't know if you can picture this but here goes. Lets say the (Y) is white and the (X) is yellow
Y
YYY
YYYXYYY
YYY
Y
Does that look like a daisy? I know you are supposed to follow the stockinette stitch. :scratch

cklewis
05-09-2006, 01:59 PM
:think I can see a daisy. . . . let me go get my book with lots of duplicate stitch stuff. . . .

They did some daisies just like an asterisk over the stitches themselves. Looks pretty.

Oooo -- and my fav one is with little yellow french knots in the center with crocheted chain petals in white. Don't know if that makes sense. :scratch

Here are some daisies with a daisy stitch. :doh Pretty!

The one duplicate stitch *daisy* in this book (they have tons of roses mostly) is from the side, so their pattern looks a little different.

If you want me to scan any of these, I can do that too. . . .

C

Christore
05-09-2006, 02:02 PM
Good luck on your project!
I'd love to see the finished blanky.