PDA

View Full Version : Say Yes

MidnightCafe
03-21-2006, 11:19 AM
I was musing about this the other day, and thought I'd pop in here to share it. I'm not an expert, but this is a piece of advice I've been meditating on lately. The pastor of my home church (the one I grew up in) used to say, "Always say yes to your children whenever you can so that when you need to say no they will respect that."

Maybe this doesn't apply to anybody else here, but I tend to be a rule-follower. DD asks if she can take her shoes off in the chiropractor's office while we both have an appointment & I automatically say no because people don't take their shoes off in chiropractor's offices...do they? My DD always asks me, "Why?" And I'm starting to notice the difference between the things I say "no" to because there's a real reason and the things I say "no" to automatically. I'm trying to say "yes" instead...or "let me think about that for a minute" before I respond. Some days I feel like I'm saying "no" all the time, and it sets up this really negative dynamic between DD & I. So, I'm trying to conscientiously evaluate what's really important & what's not. Maybe it's just the age-old "pick your battles" advice. I'm finding that sometimes I say no because I just don't want to deal with the clean-up, as in "no, we're not going to paint today." "No, let's not dump out all the legos." I know I'm going to have to guide her through the clean-up thing and it makes me not want to get things out in the first place. I need to think about the fun she'll have in between & how much happier we'll all be.

I don't mean any of this in a permissive sort of way, either. I don't mean that we should all be saying yes all the time just because our kids get upset when we don't. I'm just thinking that something I need to let go of control & say yes when there isn't really a good reason not to. Yes, I'm a control freak. I admit it. I'm working on it.