PDA

View Full Version : How do I "do" GBD while driving down the highway? Eeek!

Anginj
03-16-2006, 11:02 PM
Hello!
I'm new here, and I am very new to this whole method of child training. I was raised in a very punitive (spanking) home and thus far dh and I have used mostly punitive (some spanking, some more creative) methods of disciplining our 4 children. I have recently felt so convicted to change my ways. These boards certainly opened my eyes to new and better ways of teaching my children how to live well. I really want to move out of the whole scene of punishing, shaming, and yelling. I discovered this site about two weeks ago, and I've seen real improvements in my children ever since I started trying the ideas here.
Anyway, I have a specific problem and I really need input from some of you veteran Gentle Moms! :)

My two dds (5 and 6) sit in the back seat of my van. Logistically this is the best seating arrangement. My 5yo pushes the buttons of my very emotional 6yo almost every time we get in the car. She'll do little annoying things like staring, breathing weirdly, and the ever popular almost-touching-but-not-close-enough-to-count. This sends my 6yo into orbit (which doesn't take long because she is very highly strung.) I used to yell at them both to stop and then threaten to pull the van over and come back there "and you won't think it's funny if I come back there." Yuck.

I don't want to do that anymore, but I don't know how else to get the 5yo to listen to me and stop. Lately I've tried saying "You need to respect your sister's feelings and stop when she asks you to" or words to that affect. Now the 6yo will even say "E, you're not respecting my feelings. I asked you to stop." But the 5yo either keeps doing the annoying thing or just laughs it off.
Help me, please.
This is really frustrating. Especially now that she sees that I'm not going to do the things I used to do. I'm also really afraid that her conscience isn't well formed. Hmmmm.....