PDA

View Full Version : Need some help (ideas/suggestions regarding 3 yr old)

cheri_TX
03-11-2006, 10:03 AM
Let me start by saying that I just implemented gentle discipline this year and so I am new at walking it out and HOW to actually do that in certain situations. My thing is how do you handle the meltdown process? My 3 year old pushes buttons and boundaries that my older two never did. He will wag his finger saying ''NO". If I ask him to stop he will ''mimic'' in that ''neener neener'' voice. I have been using a ''thinking chair'' when these things happen (and I know that is probably not right...but honestly I have to do something...again I'm here for suggestions) anyway, any form of correction is met with YELLING and SCREAMING and kicking and just that general meltdown/tantrum. (as I sit here he was just told no he could not have a yogurt right now, and he screamed adn threw the container). I don't know how to walk out gentle discipline in these instances...I mean I have four children, my hubby is currently on a 6 week detail in Arizona. I just really feel like I'm hitting my head against the wall. HELP

Chris3jam
03-11-2006, 04:46 PM
I'm not ignoring you. . . .just thinking of the best way to answer! :think (We have total meltdowns here, too!)

I will say that it sounds very much like you have a really intense child, there!

BBL ====

Cindy
03-11-2006, 04:49 PM
I didn't catch on to GBD until dd was past the toddler years, so I am :popcorn

Heather Micaela
03-12-2006, 03:50 AM
I understand :hug I started the Gbd journey a year ago when my ds was 3.

Have you tried reflecting his feelings?

"You are angry that mommy is asking you to stop"

(Honestly, my ds has horrible meltdowns and I am looking into the fact that he may have special needs.)

But remember, he is adjusting to a new form of discipline too. It WILL get worse before it gets better.