PDA

View Full Version : Pillowcase dresses - adorable!

Marmee
03-04-2006, 09:25 AM
These are so cute! I think they would be really easy! I bought the stuff to try one and if I get my housecleaning done, I am going to get started today. I will let you know how it goes.

Look at how sweet they are:

www.abbedesigns.com

www.primandsassycottage.com

Anyone else made them?

2sunshines
03-04-2006, 09:49 AM
They look cute. Let us know how it works out for you.

ArmsOfLove
03-04-2006, 10:17 AM
so very cute! I bet dd would love that. She loves simple things like that :grin

Marmee
03-04-2006, 06:44 PM
It turned out so sweet! It was incredibly easy! I wish I could draw a sketch to show you. I am not good at writing out instructions with no hand motions or drawings! :) I cut a length of fabric (from some I had) that would be a bit longer than a real pillowcase. My daughter is almost 7, so an actual pillowcase would be a bit small. I sewed up the sides of the rectangle to make a "sack". The top and bottom were open. Then I cut arm holes on the top of both sides. Then I turned down the edges of the armholes and sewed them (turned under) to make a finished armhole. Then I folded the top of the fabric in front and back and sewed an inch and a half casing along the top. Then I inserted the ribbon and fed it through the top casing. (2 lengths of ribbon - one on the front casing/one on the back) Then my dd tried it on and we tied the ribbons over each shoulder. Hem it up and you are done! I tried it (to figure it out) on a piece of $1.00 a yard black gingham. The ribbon for the top is pink polka dots (my dd LOVES pink and black!). The result is very cute! I bought a piece of slightly heavier fabric in bright pink and green stripes (springtime stuff) with ribbon in green polka dots. I hope to make that one in the next few days. We bought enough ribbon for my dd to make matching flip flops to go with the sundresses - she is also wanting to use the extra fabric to make matching outfi