PDA

View Full Version : My 3rd grader got into a fight today at school - UPDATE at bottom of OP

lfane
02-23-2006, 03:30 PM
I am totally new to GBD and I need some help here. I picked up my 3rd grader today and he asked me if the principal called me. I said no and asked him why. He told me that he and another boy in his class got into a fight. Not a huge fight, but nonetheless a physical fight. I am not sure how to handle this.

A little more about the fight - he claims he did not start it and I do believe him. The fight started with him being pushed and if pushed, yes, he will push back. I need to let him know that this is not what I think is appropriate. At school he was sent to the principal's office and had to write "I will not fight. I will tell the teacher next time." a bunch of times. He (and the other child) had to do this and miss P.E. They were both told they would be suspended for 2 days next time this happened.

I have 2 main questions: What do you think the consequences should be? I've already taken away computer, tv and PS2 through the end of the weekend. I want to sit down and talk to him about this, but am not sure what to say.

Another question is about the school. I am upset that they did not call to tell me that this happened. He attends a very small private christian school (a total of 330 students from MDO to high school). He has only been there since January. One of the reasons why we choose to go with a small private christian school is to have excellent communication with the teacher and staff. During the interview, both my dh and I were told that if a incident occurred, we would be notified immediately. Again, I am so upset that they did not call me.

Thanks in advance for your help. I've been reading here like crazy and printing like crazy and trying to apply GBD to my life. I'm so glad that I found this website!