PDA

View Full Version : How does behaviorism fit into GD?

SouthPaw
02-20-2006, 09:11 PM
Is this the right forum? Hmm. Move it if it goes somewhere else. :grin

Anyway, I am wondering how you see behavioral psych. principles mesh with GD? What applies to Humans, and what is best reserved for Non-Humans? My emphasis is in behavioral psych. since I am an animal trainer... and I see a lot of basic behavioral principles fitting in with GD.

I really noticed this just tonight when I was writing out a lesson plan for my doggy training class tomorrow. :grin Re: expecting a behavioral response, i sat down and wrote: you must ensure proper motivation, practice the skill, generalize the behavior, and obtain attention before expecting compliance with a particular request, as well as taking into consideration physical & mental fatigue. Then I thought... wow... I'll bet that applies to kids too!

So now I am actually kind of interested in pursuing this further & looking into how behavioral principles as well as neurological aspects (how the brain itself learns) fit into GD. Is it worth the effort? Did someone do this already? ;) For someone like me that really likes learning about the "nuts and bolts" of everything, I think it would really help people learn how GD "works" *without* punitive measures. And for skeptics, it would give proof - based on psychological facts & research - that GD is a valid construct.

I realize that behaviorism skips a lot...and I don't expect for it to fit in with EVERY aspect of GD (ex. reflecting feelings - completely unrelated... i think...) But I am really curious where it DOES fit in, where it is appropriate, where it can be used & applied within the GD framework.

Sooooo...what do you think? :popcorn

ArmsOfLove
02-20-2006, 09:28 PM
hmmm the way you worded your question has me thinking more about my answer than I thought I'd have to when I clicked it open :grin