PDA

View Full Version : Sore throat/No voice?

DeenyB
01-29-2006, 08:01 PM
Is there anything that helps. A df of mine is so sick. She has tried lemon and honey, and some tea. Anyone have any good remedies? Thanks!!

Tengokujin
01-30-2006, 12:13 AM
Time. There really aren't any quick fixes. The soreness/loss of voice is the symptom that lets you know that healing is needed.

Rest the voice as much as possible. Whispering is NOT a rest to the voice--the vocal folds are still coming together so if communication has to be done at length, a chalkboard/dryboard might help.

Lots of liquid. Tea,honey,lemon may all feel nice and may soothe a sore throat. But almost any liquid will help to speed along healing.

I have had great results(I am a professional singer so I know) with doing the above remedies combined with breathing in steam. Either in a hot shower or putting a towelover my head over a sink full of hot water. Many times a day.

Menthol cough drops are often soothing to the throat and help you feel more comfortable breathing. However, the menthol is quite drying too,so if you are trying to jumpstart your voice, it might be better to just avoid it.

Obviously medications that dry up runny noses, congestion are going to have a drying effect systemically, including the vocal folds, so you might weigh your comfort now with your voice needs in the short term.

I am afraid that there aren't any magic answers....

milkmommy
01-30-2006, 12:17 AM
:giggle I posted this very message I've had horrible laryntits for over a week now its getting super annoying and nothing is helping. I'm doing my best not to talk but with a toddler thats just not possible :giggle. My throat has actually become "sore again" but its deep like the muscles are sore I'm kinda hoping it means my voice will be returning soon. Send you friend my silient :hug

Deanna

Tengokujin
01-30-2006, 12:33 AM
Deanna,