PDA

View Full Version : Any genealogists?

Chris3jam
12-17-2005, 02:32 PM
Any genealogists here from whom I can ask some tips?

Aerynne
12-17-2005, 03:28 PM
Me. I was about to say I'm not a professional or anything, but actually I used to be. The only thing I've done professionally is immigration to the U.S. But I've done a lot of my own genealogy. My dad is really really into it. So I mostly work on my Mom's side (cause he's doing his side). It's so fun!! Feel free to PM me any time, or write your questions on this thread.

Chris3jam
12-17-2005, 04:15 PM
So cool! My dad has asked me for help.

My dad has already fund out a lot of information. He's followed my mom's side back into the 1700's, and he's working on his parents now. This stuff just fascinates me! And I really want to help him. My dad goes to the library to check the books. . .he also has about 1000 pages of information on about 250 people, and he really wants me to help him 'fill in the gaps'. He's a bit techno-phobic. He has a computer to keep all this information on, and his pictures. And that's it. I am supposed to find what I can on the internet. Now. . . how in the world do I do this? All I can see to get is all the information he's got already, through government records. And how do I try to access records and information that was most likely destroyed by the communists? My dad's dad was a Polish immigrant in 1911. Any way to search internationally for information? I have a place and date of birth, a name. . . .actually, a whole lot of information. I would really love to do this, but I do not know where to start. Not to mention, a lot of the stuff I've looked at already is in Polish or Russian! My dad said to print stuff out and he could translate, but I really need to narrow it down to information he could use.

Garnet
12-17-2005, 04:19 PM