PDA

View Full Version : another thread got me thinking, starting AP late

Sandollar
11-26-2005, 03:28 PM
I am pretty new to Ap and am wondering what I can do to help reconnect with my 5 yr old ds? I know its not too late but are there some things i should be doing to "make up for" some not so AP things I've done in the past? I definitely had the us vs them mentality its hard to let go of the old ways even when you know thre wrong? Thanks!

MarynMunchkins
11-26-2005, 07:25 PM
I had to force myself to sit and pay attention to my older kids. :) For us, that involves a lot of books, since Doug is learning to read and building Legos together. Puzzles work for Doug too. Ana likes to play Barbies and paint her nails. ;)

Basically, anything we can do one on one helps. :) It's mostly me taking the time to focus on them that has changed our relationship.

DogwoodMama
11-27-2005, 03:06 PM
I agree with Mary- I think committing to spending individual time or special time with an older child is a great way to connect in general. :heart I really look forward to doing this with my dd as she gets older, things like working on a puzzle, doing legos, cuddling and watching a movie, going to the bookstore together, just activities that can be short or a "big event" that are fun and are good opportunities to talk and have physical contact (one thing that happened to *me* while I was growing up was I didn't get many hugs or cuddles as I grew older, and I almost lost the ability to be touched affectionately, if that makes sense... so I think that it is important to still hug and be close to older kids, they need it too! :heart)

AngelBee
11-27-2005, 03:20 PM
I think that is a really great question.

I have been thinking alot about that lately as well.

BornFreeBaby
11-29-2005, 11:41 PM
Here's what Dr. Sears says in his "Discipline Book"