PDA

View Full Version : Trying to master knitting

DogwoodMama
11-12-2005, 09:13 AM
Why is knitting so darn hard for me? I have a "practice" piece I've been working on, and of course it is riddled with mistakes (i'm terrible for "adding" extra stitches on, don't know why). But I am scared to take it off my needles and start new because I'm afraid I won't be able to cast-on by myself! :O

Some silly questions... how "fast" do you knit? I am so slow, but I have to be... is this because I'm still learning?

I know how to do knit and purl, and I *am* going to practice casting-on... what is the "next" thing I should work on? My "ultimate" goal is to knit a soaker for the new baby, but I'm not sure what other "skills" I will need to be able to do that. My first "official" project I am planning is a simple scarf for Charlotte. Can someone recommend an "in between" project that would help me build my skills but not be too overwhelming to a newbie knitter?

Thanks! :grin

greenemama
11-12-2005, 09:38 AM
if you're not offended by the title of the book, i'll suggest that you get a copy of stoller's knitting handbook "stitch and b****." it helped me more than anything else. i'm not a master knitter :O but i have to say that the book is really well designed with projects that add one new technique each time -- you're not just practicing a few things, you're making actual items that get more complicated as you go.

and the casting on directions are super easy! it's the easiest part!

:hug it's frustrating when you end up with as weird amount of stitches that are uneven to boot.

lumpofclay
11-12-2005, 08:33 PM
I learned how to cast on by watching videos here: (not that I'm a master knitter by *any* stretch of the imagination)

http://knittinghelp.com/knitting/basic_techniques/index.php

Mollie, that book sounds great. I don't do "practice" well, unless I'm actually going to end up with something useful. :/

Aisling
11-12-2005, 09:33 PM
:popcorn

kris10s
11-13-2005, 06:33 AM