PDA

View Full Version : Vegan shopping list needed....

lee472
10-27-2005, 09:45 AM
I'm new to not eating meat and dairy products and having trouble coming up with things to eat beside fruits, nuts and veggies. Between last night and this afternoon I've had a entire bag of hazelnuts which I'm sure can't be good for me.

Can someone please give an idea of what to get when I go food shopping so I don't starve to death or turn into a "nut!" (smirk-hahahah) :yum

Quietspirit
10-27-2005, 09:49 AM
We are not strict vegetarians but we do avoid dairy and eggs. We eat:

beans/rice
salads
pastas (olive oil and herbs is delicious)
Earth Balance spread makes a good butter substitute (I like it better than butter!)
Bean tacos
Stir frys
Asian noodle dishes

There are some great vegan cookbooks out there. Our library has quite a few. Perhaps a library browsing would help? :)

lee472
10-28-2005, 03:11 AM
Thank you! That was very helpful.

flowermama
10-28-2005, 11:57 AM
Oh, when I first became vegan, I lost 10 pounds (wish I could do that again :shifty), and I was talking to another lady and she said she lost 20. We were joking about how we lost the weight because we didn't know what to eat. :giggle

I'm not the biggest on variety :O, but we eat lots of potatoes, brown rice, and pasta, enchilladas, tacos, sandwiches, soup, and more. lol

Can you eat soy? Have you tried tofu? We love tofu. It can be used in so many different ways... for sauces, cubed, frozen and then defrosted (gives it a different texture),...