PDA

View Full Version : Digital Photography

chelsea
09-12-2005, 08:51 PM
Just wondering if any of you have any ideas on the best way for a momma to practice her photography skills? I love digital photography because of the "right now" element of it. Are any of you into photography and how did you get started? I would love to be able to take nice portraits of my son and other friends and family and maybe make some money on the side. My Dad used to be a photographer but he is a perfectionist and I'd rather not irritate him with my many mistakes. I can't take formal schooling for it or apprentice someone because of my little 21-month-old bundle of joy. :D But photographs are something I've always had a passion for, and I really want to get started! Somebody point me in the right direction please!

BeckyD
09-13-2005, 07:51 AM
I'm right there with you! I LOVE photography, and I take TONS of pictures (as I'm sure you can tell, from my posts). I was a portrait photographer for a short time, so I know *some* tricks of the trade, but I'm by no means a pro.

The best tips I can give you are these:

Make sure your lighting is appropriate. You can look online for tips on how to do this. Here's a link to a free e-mail service: http://www.digital-photo-secrets.com/?hop=oziii
Focus clearly on the subject, catching as little background as possible (unless it's a background that really adds to the picture)
Center your shots
For awesome home portraits, hang a solid-colored sheet to use as a backdrop. This makes sure your little cherub is the star of the picture!

Chris3jam
09-13-2005, 08:05 AM