PDA

View Full Version : Our Cycles/Our Daughters

sarahtar
08-05-2005, 12:14 PM
How did your mother present menstruation to you? Do you want to present it any differently to your daughters if you have any?

My mom presented it to me as a really yuky part of being a woman, who knows why God did this to us, and I should be grateful she said anything because my aunt's mother (my grandmother) never told her anything about it and she thought she was rusting when she found blood in her panties.

I hope to tell my daughters, if I have any, that their cycles are wonderful and tell them how all the different hormones interact to create what is really an amazing system.

cannuke
08-05-2005, 12:34 PM
My mom sat me down when I was about 10 and explained that periods were messy but necessary and here's how to use pads. I started when I was 12, so I had 2 years for this very embarassing explanation to sink in. I wasn't allowed to use tampons until I had been menstruating for two years. As a dancer, that sucked. :td

The funny thing was, the pads that she showed me were ones that she used when she last had a period. She had a complete hysterectomy when I was 5 (1981), so she was showing me pads that were about 2 inches thick and had to be fastened using a belt. Very "Are You There God, It's Me Margaret". :/ By the time I actually started my period (1987), I don't think you could even find those kind in the store. :laughtears I was so confused!

I have no idea how my grandmother presented periods to my mom and her two sisters. I should ask. :think My grandmother was pretty plain spoken, so I can only assume that she told it like it is! :highfive

I didn't ever get any explanation about how my body had a period, per se, until I took science classes at school and they explained some of the hormone stuff. It wasn't until almost three years ago that I bought TCOYF and figured it out. I'm so amazed at how wonderfully it all works.