PDA

View Full Version : leaving chilren in the church nursery/ Sunday School

apbristowmom
06-14-2005, 10:58 AM
I posted something about this the other day and now I can't find it....so I'm not sure where it went!! :banghead I'm still learning about all this! My question for you all is....how have you handled leaving your kids in the nursery/sunday school setting when there are different caregivers there on a rotation basis. Nursery was always hard for us when our son was little so we really didn't leave him there much at all. It was during his morning nap time and it just was a difficult scene all around. Then as he got a little older and was in a Sunday School class we decided to teach every other week to help him get adjusted. But he still, at age 4 does not want to go in without us on the days we don't teach. We have started letting him come to big church with us instead of having him crying and screaming. We never leave him like that when he gets so very upset. We attend a very large church in the metro area of DC and I wonder sometimes if the size of it just really intimidates him....fearing that if something happened he would not be able to get to us if he felt he needed us. By the way...he sits very well in church and seems to pick up some of what the pastor says also!

We were also involved in a ladies Bible study at a woman's house. I tried this both for him and for me. I needed some time studying the word but I also felt the situation would be much like our preschool co-op and he would feel comfortable with it. That it would give him another opportunity to have some time away from me with someone except my mother. He was not comfortable and there are some interesting stories about that that I won't go into here...yet. I'll need a rant posting for that! :D

How have you all handled these types of situations with your older ap'd chilren?

Dionne

snlmama
06-14-2005, 11:04 AM