PDA

View Full Version : My Sewing Machine & Needles

Close2MyHeart
06-14-2005, 09:10 AM
My sewing machine breaks needles regularly! :hissyfit I can't figure out why, but it's very annoying....

ok, off to change yet another needle and finish my first diaper... :/

cklewis
06-14-2005, 09:35 AM
Are you using the right size for the fabric weight? IOW, what kind of fabric are you sewing and what size needle are you using? Do you have a ball point needle (for knits and delicate fab) or a regular one?

C

Close2MyHeart
06-14-2005, 09:47 AM
umm. hmm, hadn't thought of that. I don't know this machine real well yet. It's Matt's grandma's. she gave it to me in November. I'm still learning the quirks. As far as needles go.. I don't know :shrug I'm using the ones she had in her drawer and none of them are labeled.

I did noticed that it was hitting the foot, so maybe I just need to re-adjust that?? I broke 2 this morning trying to sew 1 diaper. :doh

cklewis
06-14-2005, 09:59 AM
I did noticed that it was hitting the foot, so maybe I just need to re-adjust that?? I broke 2 this morning trying to sew 1 diaper. :doh

Hmmmm. . . . diapers. So you probably should be using a middle-heavyweight needle. Just a sec. . . . if your g-ma has Singer needles, they have a red or yellow band on the top. Red is for woven fabric, yellow is for knit or delicates. And you'd want to use the ones that have a blue band next. Those are middle weight and are size 90/14.

If they are all silver, it's GOT to be engraved in there somewhere.

If it's "hitting the foot," hmmmm. . . . are you doing a zig-zag? then you may need to narrow the stitch or use an open foot. Does she have other feet in there? What kind of machine does she have? Look here (http://www.allbrands.com/products/abc0129.html). Do any of these feet look like yours?

C

Close2MyHeart
06-14-2005, 10:18 AM
The foot is similar to this one: http://www.allbrands.com/products/abp01039-0677.html