PDA

View Full Version : a cheap, chem-free laundry

GodChick
06-03-2005, 04:10 PM
i'm using 7th generation laundry detergent, but it's too pricey. is there any other way to clean my clothes without using chemical-laden store brands?

i keep hearing about borax . . how do you use it? do i use it to replace my detergent? or my bleach? or my stain-remover? what's it made of?

what about oxy-clean. i thinkit's a peroxide color-safe bleach, right? does it have other chemicals too, or is it mainly just peroxide? is it safe to use on cloth dipes?

what about vinegar in the rinse? i know it's supposed to soften fabric--can i use it on everything, even colors? can it replace my fabric softener? what else does it do? does it remove oders? i read somewhere only to use it on dipes occasionally--why not every time?

thanks for any info--i'm not new to laundry but i'm new to chem-free laundry! :giggle

~yogamom~
06-03-2005, 04:23 PM
i use arm and hammer dye free perfume free detergent, it has more chemicals than teh truly natural stuff, but the price is pretty good and it works! i then use 7th generation laundry softener.

bostonsmama
06-04-2005, 07:57 AM
is there any other way to clean my clothes without using chemical-laden store brands?

oh yes! here's what i do, and i think its wonderful, my clothes smell great and its sooo inexpensive :) i grate up a bar of Zote soap (i found mine at walmart w/the laundry stuff, i think mine was actually by the softener, it comes in a big bar for like 50 cents)

if you need help grating it, stick it in the freezer for a few minutes. its super easy to grate though!

ok, on with the recipe

grate up 2/3 of a bar of zote soap (im assuming you could do the entire bar, but i just go w/the recipe ;))
add 1 cup borax (also found in the laundry aisle, usually Mule Team is the brand i buy)
add 1 cup washing soda (not baking soda--i had a harder time finding this, it comes in a yellow box, i found it at our little locally owned grocery store)