PDA

View Full Version : should I make the switch? (help!!)

GodChick
05-24-2005, 08:12 AM
Okay, I'm new to the whole CD thing, so please bear wtih me if I ask stupid questions! :) I have a few questions about CD for both my kids.

First, my DD1, Serena, has labial adhesions. She had them once before, and with estrogen cream (*sigh* :td) they resolved. But now she's got them again. She is two years, five months old and not using the toilet yet. I've always been very good about changing her disposables; I'm not one of those moms who tries to save $ by not changing frequently. She's never had a diaper rash, ever, but she still got the labial adhesions even though they're usualy caused by irritation. The key to minimizing her chances of developing the lesions is for her to stay dry. Would switching to cloth dipes this late in the game be of any benefit? Or do the disposables actually keep her drier? Or should I just try to encourage toilet learning . . . she'll sit on her potty, but gets very itimidated at the idea of actually DOING anything on it. When I see she's about to mess her diaper, and ask her if she wants to go potty, she's like, "Noooo! Not NOW!!" :shrug Any ideas on what would be of most benefit:
:arrow staying in disposables?
:arrow switching to cloth?
:arrow toilet learning even though she's reluctant right now? And if so, how? We haven't been doing EC, so I assume it's too late to start that?? :shrug If not, how do I start this late in the game? Or any other ideas about toilet learning in the reluctant child? (wouldn't force the issue, but it may help her labial adhesions!)

Second, I want to prevent DD2 from having the same problem. The doc recommended using petroleum jelly at each changing, but I'm using lansinoh instead, because I don't like putting petroleum on her genitals! But do you think cloth diapers would be of benefit in preventing this, if the key is to keep dry? Or do disposables stay drier?