PDA

View Full Version : del

zak
05-22-2005, 08:32 PM
del

Wonder Woman
05-22-2005, 08:34 PM
I say put pepper on the PW's candy bar that she reaches for when *she's* stressed! :giggle

Oh wait, that's not gentle. Ooops.

Why oh why do parents see a need to take away their children's comfort measures? If this kid has been Ezzo'd, she's forced to self soothe - and now they want to take that away too? :banghead :banghead :banghead

MarynMunchkins
05-22-2005, 08:59 PM
Well, personally, I don't see the big deal about a 2 year old sucking her thumb. :shrug Does her dentist have a problem with it?

But, I would try a band-aid on her thumb to remind her to stop or a sticker chart and reward before pepper. :td That's just cruel. :(

zak
05-22-2005, 09:01 PM
del

Tulip_Plus_3
05-22-2005, 11:21 PM
You know, for years before I became a parent I was a landscape designer and garden consultant. A term I use to describe my gardening style is "gentle gardening". As a professional I made a point to always discourage anyone from using hot peppers or tabasco sauce or anything else to deter cats or squirrels in the garden. Why? Because if the animal got some in their eye accidentally (if they rubbed their eye, for instance) it could cause serious, serious damage. At the very least it would cause excruciating pain.

It just breaks my heart that people around the world have thanked me for pointing out the possible cruelty, pain, and harm they might inflict on animals by using hot peppers, yet other people see no reason not to expose their precious children to the danger that's an unacceptable risk for animals? Why oh why would anyone take that kind of risk? And over something like sucking a thumb? How is that worth it?

Perhaps PW needs to be asked if she'd like someone to put peppers in her eye. If the answer is no, then ask her why she's running a risk of doing the same to her little girl.

mom2threePKs
05-23-2005, 07:34 AM