PDA

View Full Version : anti-cosleeping commercial

tigerlily
05-13-2005, 02:52 PM
While I was watching dr. phil today a commercial came on about baby in the bed. It went something like this:

Mom propped up in bed with lots of pillows kind of on her side. Baby sleeping next to her abdomen. Mom nods off and starts to roll onto baby's face. Next scene husband comes in -- mom sleeping but has not rolled onto baby yet. Husband says: "If you're going to sleep let's move the baby to his own crib or bassinnette."
Sponsered by Oklahoma DHS.

This commercial has really upset me, ladies. I'm just beginning to feel comfortable co-sleeping with my 13 wk old dd. It's going really well for us, (I'm getting lots of sleep and she only wakes about 1or maybe 2 times a night). I feel like the commercial is right in some ways and way wrong in others. e.g. -- that woman shouldn't have had the baby next to her when she is propped up on all those pillows.

I use no pillows and only pull sheet and comfortor up to legs. But now I'm really paranoid again. Could use some :hug if anyone has some for me!

inesperada
05-13-2005, 03:12 PM
:hug

DogwoodMama
05-13-2005, 03:14 PM
Hmmm, that is too bad. :( But as you said, it's not the same thing in your situation! It *is* unsafe to coslepp with too many pillows, or on a soft couch, or under the influence of drugs/alcohol. You aren't doing those things, however, and are practicing safe co-sleeping, so the commerical doesn't even apply to you, if that makes sense! There are many, many mothers on this message board and others i know of who have practiced safe co-sleeping, including myself. I recognize the intent behind the commerical is well-intentioned, but unfortunately it's only presenting *one* option for "safe sleeping". :hug

mommyTay
05-13-2005, 06:02 PM
I have co-slept with all my children and never had any problems.
:td to Oklahoma DHS for being so discouraging.