PDA

View Full Version : more wool questions

iplsmama
04-16-2005, 12:11 PM
OK my mom insists there is noooo way a wool soaker or diaper cover works. If you sit baby on your lap it must leave a wet spot on your clothes. I tell her that is not what everyone says. And there is no way you don't have to wash them everytime, they must smell. Okay, can you guys help me, my mom is one of those who thinks she is right all the time, and she challenged me to buy one so I can prove her wrong ;). Well, wool is soooo expensive so I am hesitant to make such an investment if it doesn't work. On another thread, there was a link for homemade soaker from a sweater, which intrigues me. I can sew kinda so thought I might make my own. Do the homemades work as well as like Stacinators? TIA

Micah
04-17-2005, 06:48 AM
I'm new to wool so take that with a grain of salt! LOL

If I were you I'd just make one if you can sew, you can use a heavy weight wool sweater. :)

DogwoodMama
04-17-2005, 07:08 AM
Yes, as long as it's not a synthetic sweater, but a real wool sweater. Part of what makes it work is keeping in lanolized, which helps it to function properly... so after you make it, you would probably want to lanolize it. :)

OK, if you had a baby that just totally SOAKED the fitted diaper underneath the wool cover, and the wool cover absorbed as much as it possibly could (which is a decent amount) you would then get dampness coming through the cover. I think this happened to us maybe 1 time, and it was after dd nursed ALL NIGHT and peed a ton, her wool cover then felt slightly damp. But you would definitely change your child normally before it got to that point!

Wool is an amazing natural fiber... I highly recommend it. The only reason I don't use wool covers all the time is the "bulk" factor, and also the cost. :) But I LOVE my wool covers! :tu

milkmommy
04-17-2005, 07:38 AM